The Consistory of New Hope Church is the collective body of spiritual leaders, called by God and elected by the membership, who serve as the governing body of the congregation. Comprised of New Hope’s two Ministers of the Word and Sacrament, Elders, and Deacons, the Consistory provides visionary leadership and oversight for the church.

Members of Consistory at New Hope Church must be active confessing members of the congregation, and over 21 years of age (or with special permission of Consistory, over 18 years of age). A Nominating Committee representing the congregation solicits nominations for Elders and Deacons from the active confessing members of the church, and makes a recommendation to Consistory of a single slate to be elected by the congregation at a meeting each April.

There are seven Elders and seven Deacons who serve three-year staggered terms. There is no hierarchy of office among Ministers, Elders, and Deacons; however, each role serves different functions.

Role of the Ministers

Role of the Elders

Role of the Deacons

New Hope Consistory 2015-16

Please hover over each picture to see the names and roles of our Consistory members


Comments? Questions? Share them with us below.